Strengths, Weaknesses and Resources

In my last post I discussed about my learning style (auditory-visual) and also shared some organization/learning tips that will hopefully help others throughout their academic year and even in everyday life. This post however, will look at my strengths and weakness as a learner as there are always ways to improve yourself and to use your strengths to its full potential.

Let’s start with my greatest strength first. What I have noticed throughout my academic life, is that I enjoy learning and I wish that I could continue studying to acquire degrees in other fields that I’m interested in, such as psychology and environmental science. However, my attention span is limited if the content I’m learning comes in the form of long lectures without any visual aid. To cope with this I found that note taking and creating my own visual keys helps to keep my focus during long lectures.

My greatest weakness is that I get easily demotivated if I do poorly on a previous assignment, while working on the next one. I haven’t figured out how to deal with this weakness yet, but I think what it comes down to is not being hung up on previous mistakes and reflecting on the criticism I’ve received. For example, in my drawing class my line art looked decent but I was told when it came to drawing circular shapes, the piece looked inconsistent. It was a little upsetting to hear, but it was true.

I looked for reasons why parts of my drawings looked inconsistent and found the site Drawabox where according to artist Karim (2015),  people who are new to observational drawing tend to tackle all the detail instead of breaking the objects into simple forms. So I took the criticism to heart and spent an entire afternoon drawing only circles and ellipses with proper guidelines and now I can already see improvements.

SAE has numerous ways to help students who are struggling such as the physical and virtual library of books and journals available, or meeting with lectures at designated after class timings. As of right now I feel that I’m on track with all of my work but it’s nice to know the school has resources I can turn to if things get difficult.

References:

Karim, I. (2015). An exercise based approach to learning the fundamentals of drawing. Retrieved June 19, 2017, from http://drawabox.com/

Leave a Reply

